Arkansas softball earns a bye in SEC Tournament, No. 4 seed

May 11, 2023; Fayetteville, AK, USA;  Arkansas Razorbacks utility Rylin Hedgecock (28) swings at a
May 11, 2023; Fayetteville, AK, USA; Arkansas Razorbacks utility Rylin Hedgecock (28) swings at a / Brett Rojo-USA TODAY Sports

The SEC softball tournament bracket is set. The Hogs will be heading to Auburn as the No. 4 seed, falling behind Tennessee, Florida, and Texas A&M. However, fourth is good enough for a two-game bye.

The tournament kicks off today with a single match between bottom seeds No. 12 Kentucky and No. 13 Ole Miss. The winner of Game One will play No. 5 Missouri on Wednesday. Arkansas will then play the winner of that game.

If the Razorbacks can make it through their opening match, they'll probably take on No.1 Tennessee. The tournament is single elimination, so if Arkansas wins again, the following game would be for the SEC Championship.

Here's some more about the Tournament for the SEC:

"The SEC Softball Tournament is an on-campus event. It rotates to all 13 schools with future sites set for Georgia (2025), Kentucky (2026), LSU (2027), Missouri (2028) and Ole Miss (2029).

The tournament is a 13-team, single elimination format, beginning on Tuesday and concluding with the championship game on Saturday. The 13 tournament teams shall be determined based on the highest percentage of wins during regular-season Conference competition. The winner of the tournament receives the league's automatic bid to the NCAA Championship.

The inaugural tournament in 1997 was a double-elimination event with six teams. The following year, the double-elimination bracket expanded to include eight teams vying to the championship title.

The first seven tournament were held at neutral sites: the South Commons Stadium in Columbus, Ga. (1997-2000), Jim Frost Stadium in Chattanooga, Tenn. (2001-2002) and Plant City Stadium in Plant City, Fla. (2003). In 2004, the SEC Softball Tournament moved to on-campus sites.

The tournament expanded three times in the past decade. In 2013, 10 teams earned a spot in the championship. The tournament featured 12 teams for the first time in 2015, and in 2019, the bracket included all 13 teams in the conference."

2024 SEC Tournament Schedule

Tuesday, May 7

Game 1: No. 12 Kentucky vs. No. 13 Ole Miss, 6:00 pm, SEC Network

Wednesday, May 8

Game 2: No. 8 LSU vs. No. 9 Alabama, 10:00 am, SEC Network

Game 3: No. 5 Missouri vs. Winner of Game 1, 35 minutes following Game 2, SEC Network

Game 4: No. 7 Georgia vs. No. 10 Auburn, 4:00 pm, SEC Network

Game 5: No. 6 Mississippi St. vs. No. 11 South Carolina, 35 minutes following Game 4, SEC Network

Thursday, May 9

Game 6: No. 1 Tennessee vs. Winner of Game 2, 10:00 am, SEC Network

Game 7: No. 4 Arkansas vs. Winner of Game 3, 35 minutes following Game 6, SEC Network

Game 8: No. 2 Florida vs. Winner of Game 4, 4:00 pm, SEC Network

Game 9: No. 3 Texas A&M vs. Winner of Game 5, 35 minutes following Game 8, SEC Network

Friday, May 10

Game 10: Winner of Game 6 vs. Winner of Game 7, 3:00 pm, ESPN 2

Game 11: Winner of Game 8 vs Winner of Game 9, 35 minutes following Game 10, ESPN 2

Saturday, May 11

Championship Game: Winner of Game 10 vs. Winner of Game 11, 4:00 pm, ESPN 2