Arkansas football: These 3 Razorbacks are up for national college football awards

Sam PIttman, Arkansas football (Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports)
Sam PIttman, Arkansas football (Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports) /
3 of 3
Arkansas football
Grant Morgan, Arkansas football (Photo by Wesley Hitt/Getty Images) /

No 3. Arkansas football captain and linebacker, Grant Morgan

Finalist for the Burlsworth Trophy 

Semifinalist for the Jason Witten Collegiate Man of the Year award

The heart and soul of this Arkansas defense is senior linebacker Grant Morgan. One of the best tacklers in all of the SEC, Morgan is up for two notable awards this season.

For the second season in a row, he’s been named a finalist for the Burlsworth Trophy, given to the best college football player that started as a walk-on. The award is named in honor of former Arkansas Razorback Brandon Burlsworth, who’s life was tragically cut short after a phenomenal career with the Razorbacks in the 1990s.

Morgan is also up for the relatively new award, named in honor of college football and NFL tight end great Jason Witten.

Morgan is one of 20 semifinalists for the Collegiate Man of the Year award, given to a college player that shows exemplary leadership.

Morgan seems like a very strong candidate to collect some hardware this winter.

Next. Hogs achieve highest CFB Playoff Ranking ever. dark

Razorback fans across the country are rooting for these Hogs to collect some awards for their outstanding achievements on and off the field.