Arkansas football: This Razorback has been named a nominee for the Burlsworth Trophy

Grant Morgan, Arkansas football (Jerome Miron-USA TODAY Sports)
Grant Morgan, Arkansas football (Jerome Miron-USA TODAY Sports) /
Arkansas football
Grant Morgan, Arkansas football (Jay Biggerstaff-USA TODAY Sports) /

A big-time Arkansas football player has been named a finalist for one of the best awards in all of college football.

The Burlsworth award, named in memory one of the all-time great Razorbacks who’s life was cut tragically short after an auto accident in 1999. The archetype of an underdog, Burlsworth walked on as an offensive lineman for the Arkansas Razorbacks.

The towering, 300 lb giant with an unparalleled work ethic outworked just about anyone on the team. He eventually received a scholarship to play for the Razorbacks. It then led to being named a captain on the team and eventually an All-American in 1999.

Burlsworth’s story still inspires to this day, spurning books, movies and the trophy given each year to college football’s most outstanding player that started as a walk-on.

Which Arkansas football player has been nominated for the Burlsworth award?

This year, Arkansas Razorbacks linebacker Grant Morgan has been named as a finalist for the prestigious award.

Some may not realize it, but Grant Morgan got his start on this Arkansas football team as a walk-on back in 2017.

Like Brandon Burlsworth himself, Morgan started as a walk-on and has been named a team captain. He completed the trifecta and became an All-American, too last season.

He’s currently in the top 10 in the SEC in total tackles and just three tackles away from being No. 3 in the conference.

Morgan has actually been a nominee before, even becoming a finalist last year after another great season for the Hogs. He lost to Pittsburgh’s Jimmy Morrisssey in 2020, but hopes to come away with the trophy this year.

Next. Forecasting the chances of a Razorback bowl game in 2021. dark

The award, which has been in existence since 2010, has previously been awarded to players such as Baker Mayfield (QB, Oklahoma), Hunter Renfrow (WR, Clemson) and Luke Faulk (QB, Washington State).