The All-Time Razorbacks’ Defensive Team


A few weeks ago I listed my all-time Razorbacks offensive team. On this week’s list, I’m showing my all-time Razorbacks defense and special teams.

DE – Billy Ray Smith (1979-1982)  –  Smith was a beast on the defensive line for four years at Arkansas. He holds the school record for most tackles for a loss with 63; that’s 17 more than 2nd place Henry Ford. Billy Ray Smith totaled an unreal 299 tackles in his career which is almost unheard of at the defensive end position. He was a two-time consensus All-American and an inductee into the NCAA Football Hall of Fame in 2000. He was drafted 5th overall by the San Diego Chargers.

DE – Ron Faurot (1980-1983)  –  Faurot played with Billy Ray Smith and was equally as effective. In 1983, he led the team in both tackles (63) and sacks (7). He became a 1st round draft pick of the New York Jets in 1984.

DT – Dick Bumpas (1968-1970)  –  Bumpas became a consensus All-American and Defensive Player of the Year in the Southwestern Conference in 1970. He was animal in the middle as he posted 53 tackles in his final season, which still remains one of the best performances by a defensive lineman in Arkansas football history.

DT – Dan Hampton (1975-1978)  –  Dan “Danimal” Hampton wreaked havoc in opponent’s backfield for four years at Arkansas. Hampton is 3rd all-time in tackles for loss at Arkansas and finished his career with 237 tackles and 6 fumble recoveries. Hampton was a 4th overall pick in the 1979 NFL Draft to the Chicago Bears and later became part of one of the best defensive teams in NFL history with the 1985 Championship team known as the “Monsters of the Midway.” Hampton was named to four Pro Bowls in the NFL and one Defensive MVP award in 1982.

LB – Jermaine Petty (1999-2001)  –  Petty was a crowd favorite at Arkansas as he came up with big play after big play. His unforgettable 88-yard interception return to defeat Auburn and his game saving tackle to beat Ole Miss in the 7th overtime mark just a few of his unbelievable plays. Petty was a consensus All-American in 2001 with 140 tackles and 13 being for a loss.

LB – Tony Bua (2000-2003)  –  Bua is probably known as the hardest hitter to ever where the Razorback jersey. Yes, I’m saying more electrifying than Atwater. He’s a 3-time All-SEC safety/linebacker hybrid who punished running backs for years. Bua holds the school record in tackles with an incredible 408, breaking Ken Hamlin’s record of 381 from the year before. He was a 5th round selection of the Miami Dolphins in the 2004 NFL Draft.

LB – Quinton Caver (1996-2000)  –  Caver is probably the biggest surprise on this list, but this guy was a beast during his junior and senior seasons. Caver totaled 239 tackles at Arkansas with 30 being for a loss. He added one interception for a touchdown and was a first team All-SEC player as a senior. In 2001, he was drafted in the 2nd round by the Philadelphia Eagles.

CB – Ahmad Carroll (2001-2003)  –  Ahmad “Batman” Carroll was a track star and speedster on the football field. Carroll is probably known as the best cover corner to play at Arkansas. He was a two-time All-SEC defensive player with 4 interceptions and 25 passes defended. Quarterbacks simply avoided the “Batman.” Carroll was a 1st round selection of the Green Bay Packers in 2004.

CB – Chris Houston (2003-2006)  –  Houston was a late bloomer with the Hogs, but he sure was good in his final two years. One of the best tackling cornerbacks I’ve ever seen at the college level. Houston was physical and covered the biggest and best receivers. He finished with 89 tackles, 3 interceptions, 3 forced fumbles and 1 touchdown as a Razorback. In 2007, he was drafted in the 2nd round by the Atlanta Falcons.

S – Ken Hamlin (2000-2002)  –  Ken “Hard Hit” Hamlin became the first freshman in school history to lead the team in tackles with 104. Hamlin earned freshman All-American honors and later finished his career with over 100 tackles in all three seasons at Arkansas. Hamlin finished with 381 career tackles in just three seasons, a record that stood for only one year. The Hammer was drafted in the 2nd round by the Seattle Seahawks in the 2003 NFL Draft.

Aug 20, 2014; Denver, CO, USA; General view of the historical monument pillar of former Denver Broncos safety Steve Atwater (27) at the Ring of Fame plaza at Sports Authority Field at Mile High. Mandatory Credit: Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

S – Steve Atwater (1985-1988)  –  Atwater is probably the most decorated Razorback to ever put on a uniform. He was three-time All-SWC player and a two-time All-American with the Hogs. He holds the all-time record of 14 interceptions at Arkansas. Atwater is most known for his punishing and helmet rattling hits. He was drafted in the 1st round by the Denver Broncos and later won two Super Bowls.

KR/PR – Felix Jones (2005-2007)  –  Jones averaged an incredible 28.2 yards per kick return in three years with the Hogs. He returned 4 for touchdowns on 62 total returns.

K – Steve Little (1974-1977)  –  Little is the unanimous choice as best kicker in Arkansas history. He converted 53 made field goals in his four year career and was 7 of 13 from beyond 50 yards. Little was a two-time All-American and holds the NCAA record for longest kick of 67 yards. He’s also the 3rd highest drafted kicker of all-time.

P – Steve Cox (1979-1980)  –  He only punted at Arkansas for two years, but he was quite a find. As a Razorback, Cox averaged 45.2 yards per punt, which is still a school record. It’s nearly impossible not to put Cox up there with the best when you talk about some of the long punts he had.