2013 Men’s Basketball All-SEC Teams: Powell and Young Earn Second-Team Honors


Mar 5, 2013; Columbia, MO, USA; Arkansas Razorbacks forward Marshawn Powell (33) goes for a basket over Missouri Tigers guard Jabari Brown (32) and Missouri Tigers guard Earnest Ross (33) during the first half at Mizzou Arena. Mandatory Credit: Dak Dillon-USA TODAY Sports

Fayetteville, Ark. – The SEC announced their all-SEC Teams before tournament play began on Wednesday. Among the first and second-team honors awarded by voting SEC coaches was Arkansas Razorback sophomore guard BJ Young and junior forward Marshawn Powell to the league’s second-team squad.

Young (St. Louis, MO) led the Razorbacks in scoring with a 15.1 points per game average. The six-foot three-inch guard had nine games of 20 plus points with a season-high 29 against Arizona State. Young averaged a team-high 27.9 minutes per game while starting in 24 of 30 regular season games played.

The two-guard also led the Razorbacks in total assists dishing out 102 with Rashad Madden a distant second at 55 assists on the year.

Powell (Newport News, VA) was perhaps the Razorbacks most consistent player throughout the course of the 2012-2013 regular season. Starting in 30 of the Razorbacks’ 31 games on the year, Powell finished four points behind Young for the overall team leader in points scored while averaging 14.5 points per contest.

The listed six-foot seven-inch forward led the Hogs in total rebounds (165), was second on the team in field goal shooting percentage (.493), tied Young for free throws attempted (119), and was second on the team in blocked shots (36).

Young and Powell helped lead Arkansas to a No. 7 seed in the SEC Tournament while pacing the Hogs to 73.7 points per game scoring average, fourth best in the SEC.

Arkansas edged out LSU as the conference’s leader in total steals on the year. The Hogs brought in 288 to the Tigers 266, with the Razorbacks playing in two additional games than LSU. Help leading that charge was Young with 21 steals and Powell with 36, third best on the Arkansas roster.

First Team All-SEC

Trevor Releford, Alabama – G, 6-1, 195, Jr., Kansas City, Mo.

Erik Murphy, Florida – F/C, 6-10, 238, Sr., South Kingstown, R.I.

Kentavious Caldwell-Pope, Georgia – G, 6-5, 205, So., Greenville, Ga.

Nerlens Noel, Kentucky – F, 6-10, 228, Fr., Everett, Mass.

Johnny O’Bryant III, LSU – F, 6-9, 256, So., Cleveland, Miss.

Phil Pressey, Missouri – G, 5-11, 175, Jr., Dallas, Texas

Jordan McRae, Tennessee – G, 6-5, 178, Jr., Midway, Ga.

Elston Turner, Texas A&M – G, 6-5, 209, Sr., Sacramento, Calif.

Second Team All-SEC

Marshawn Powell, Arkansas – F, 6-7, 240, Jr., Newport News, Va.

BJ Young, Arkansas – G, 6-3, 180, So, St. Louis, Mo.

Kenny Boynton, Florida – G, 6-2, 190, Sr., Pompano Beach, Fla.

Mike Rosario, Florida – G, 6-3, 183, Sr., Jersey City, N.J.

Patric Young, Florida – C, 6-9, 249, Jr., Jacksonville, Fla.

Marshall Henderson, Ole Miss – G, 6-2, 175, Jr., Hurst, Texas

Murphy Holloway, Ole Miss – F, 6-7, 240, Sr., Irmo, S.C.

Laurence Bowers, Missouri – F, 6-8, 227, Sr., Memphis, Tenn.

Jarnell Stokes, Tennessee – F, 6-8, 270, So., Memphis, Tenn.

SEC All-Freshman Team

Michael Frazier II, Florida – G, 6-4, 200, Fr., Tampa, Fla.

Charles Mann, Georgia – G, 6-4, 205, Fr., Alpharetta, Ga.

Willie Cauley-Stein, Kentucky – F, 7-0, 244, Fr., Olathe, Kan.

Archie Goodwin, Kentucky – G, 6-4.5, 198, Fr., Little Rock, Ark.

Nerlens Noel, Kentucky – F, 6-10, 228, Fr., Everett, Mass.

Alex Poythress, Kentucky – F, 6-7, 239, Fr., Clarksville, Tenn.

Craig Sword, Mississippi State – G, 6-3, 189, Fr., Montgomery, Ala.

Gavin Ware, Mississippi State – F, 6-9, 270, Fr., Starkville, Miss.

Michael Carrera, South Carolina – F, 6-5, 212, Fr., Anzoátegui, Venezuela

SEC All-Defensive Team

Trevor Releford, Alabama – G, 6-1, 185, Jr., Kansas City, Mo.

Scottie Wilbekin, Florida – G, 6-2, 176, Jr., Gainesville, Fla.

Patric Young, Florida – C, 6-9, 249, Jr., Jacksonville, Fla.

Nerlens Noel, Kentucky – F, 6-10, 228, Fr., Everett, Mass.

Anthony Hickey, LSU – G, 5-11, 178, So., Hopkinsville, Ky.

Reginald Buckner, Ole Miss – F, 6-9, 235, Sr., Memphis, Tenn.

Top SEC Men’s Basketball Honors

SEC Coach of the Year: Billy Donovan, Florida

SEC Player of the Year: Kentavious Caldwell-Pope, Georgia

SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Patric Young, Florida

SEC Freshman of the Year: Nerlens Noel, Kentucky

SEC Sixth-Man of the Year: Kyle Wiltjer, Kentucky

SEC Defensive Player of the Year: Nerlens Noel, Kentucky