NCAA Track & Field: Arkansas Wins 41st National Title


Mar 9, 2013; Fayetteville, AR, USA; Members of the Arkansas Razorbacks mens team and coach Chris Bucknam pose with the championship plaque after winning the team title in the 2013 NCAA Indoor Championships at the Randal Tyson Center. Mandatory Credit: Kirby Lee-USA TODAY SportsA

Fayetteville, Ark. – Running the wire from preseason No. 1 with a bookend national championship clinching win at Randal Tyson Track Center in Fayetteville at the end of the indoor track season, the Arkansas Razorbacks outdistanced Florida to win the school’s 41st national championship in track and field.

The Hogs got several great individual and team meet performances on their way to scoring 74 points for the win, 15 points ahead of Florida’s second place finish of 59 points.

The championship for the Razorbacks was a done deal before Arkansas’ 4×400 team of Marek Niit, Neil Braddy, Caleb Cross and Akheem Gauntlett took to the track to set a collegiate record posting a time of 3:03.50 to finish off the meet.

Andrew Irwin won the indoor pole vault title for the Hogs after clearing 18-feet 8.25-inches. Kemoy Campbell finished second in the 3,000 meters and Kevin Lazas took the heptathlon title with a score of 6,175 points.

The Arkansas lady’s team finished fourth with a score of 42.5.

Arkansas had not won a title under fifth year head coach Chris Bucknam. The last track title the men’s team had won was in 2006.