SEC Football: Hogs Pick Six Captains for 2012 Season


Fayetteville, Ark.– The University of Arkansas football team announced their captains for the 2012 season. Six Razorbacks earned the honor to lead their team in the upcoming season.

No surprise to find senior quarterback Tyler Wilson (Greenwood, Ark.) on the list. Wilson was a first team All-SEC performer in 2011. He led the league in total passing yards (3,638), quarterback rating (148.4), and total completions (277) while connecting on 63 percent of his passes.

Arkansas also called upon one of their top defensive returners in defensive end turned linebacker Tank Wright (Memphis, Ten.).

Despite missing five games with an arm injury suffered during the Alabama game, Wright finished the season with 25 tackles, 1.5 sacks, and one fumble recovery. He also was tied for the team lead in quarterback hurries with five.

One of the brightest spots from the 2011 recruiting class was the linebacker play of junior college transfer Alonzo Highsmith, Jr. (Missouri City,Tex.). Highsmith transferred from Phoenix College in Arizona immediately earning a starting spot next to Jerry Franklin and Jerico Nelson.

Highsmith finished third on the team in total tackles (80) behindFranklinand safety Tramain Thomas. He led the team in tackles for loss (12.5) and was second on the team behind Jake Bequette in sacks (4.5).

Senior defensive lineman Alfred Davis (College Park, Geo.) has been a clog along the line for the Hogs. Listed at 6’1”, 318 pounds, Davis has earned three letters while at Arkansas appearing in 37 games with 8 starts.

The Banneker High School product earned his college diploma along with tight end Chris Gragg and Tyler Wilson earlier this month.

Junior center Travis Swanson (Kingwood,Tex.) has been called upon to not only anchor the Hogs offensive line but provide leadership amongst the group.

Swanson has started in all 26 games he has appeared in snapping for both Wilson and former Arkansas quarterback Ryan Mallett (Patriots).

Knile Davis’ leadership will be called upon during the 2012 season.Daviswas a first-team All-SEC performer in 2010 when he led all SEC running backs with 1,322 yards and produced 13 rushing touchdowns.

Davis (Missouri City, Tex.) missed the entire 2011 season due to an ankle injury suffered in fall practices. Davis participated in spring football practices but did not compete in any of the Razorbacks’ scrimmages.

This the second year in a row that Davis and Wilson were named team captains. Both are also on the early list for the Heisman Trophy Award given to the top player in college football.

The 2011 team captains included Bequette, Franklin, Davis, Wilson, Nelson, and WR Jarius Wright.