2012 Houston College Classic Field Announced


The 12th Annual Houston College Classic lineup was announced today. University of Arkansas, University of Tennessee, University of Houston, Rice University, University of Texas, and Texas Tech University will compete in the round robin early season tournament. The three day tournament will be held at Minute Maid Park, home of the Houston Astros.

The 2012 lineup features three teams that played in regionals, Arkansas, Texas, and Rice, with Texas advancing to the College World Series.

The 2011 lineup included: Baylor, Rice, Houston, Utah, Texas A&M, Kentucky. Utah came into the tournament 0-5 but managed to upset Texas A&M and Baylor while losing toKentuckyto tie at 2-1 for a share of the championship. Baylor also went 2-1 beating Houston and Rice.

Rice, the 8th seeded team in college baseball before regional play began, Baylor, and Texas A&M all made regional appearances with A&M making the trip to Omaha this year.

Pairings for the tournament have not been announced.

This will be the Razorbacks first appearance in the Houston Classic.